Griffin Main Gallery

22nd Juried Show: The Peter Urban Legacy Exhibition
See List
July 14, 2016–August 28, 2016

Juror Elizabeth Avedon
Reception July 14, 2016 7-8:30

1. LissaRivera copy

Lissa Rivera


Jennifer McClure

3 RebeccaMoseman


4. SusanMayTell

Susan May Tell

5. HM AshleyStohl

Ashley Stohl

6 Ruben1

Ruben Natal-San Miquel

1. LissaRivera copy thumbnail
2.JenniferMcClure thumbnail
3 RebeccaMoseman thumbnail
4. SusanMayTell thumbnail
5. HM AshleyStohl thumbnail
6 Ruben1 thumbnail

The juror for the Griffin’s Juried show this year was Elizabeth Avedon. Ms. Avedon is an independent curator and contributor to “L’oeil de la Photographie,” profiling notable leaders in the world of Photography. She has received awards and recognition for her photography exhibition design and publishing projects, including the retrospective exhibition and book, “Avedon: Photographs 1949-1979″ for the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dallas Museum of Fine Arts; and “Richard Avedon: In the American West” for the Amon Carter Museum, the Corcoran Gallery of Art, and The Art Institute of Chicago, among many others; as well as curating several exhibitions at New York’s Leica Gallery. In addition, she has also worked with the Menil Collection and the Estate of Diane Arbus. Ms. Avedon wrote the introductory essay for “Vivian Maier: Self Portraits,” a PowerHouse Book. She is an instructor in both the BFA Photography and Masters in Digital Photography departments at the School of Visual Arts, New York and resides in New York City

“These final pictures, including the award winning images,” says Avedon, “sit well with me in the end. Each image has a different voice that takes me on a journey I have not been on before. They whisper and call for me to look again, and isn’t that all we ask and hope for from the medium we love, and the photographs that find us?”

The 22nd Griffin Museum Juried Exhibition is on display in the Main Gallery of the Griffin Museum July 14 through August 28, 2016. An opening reception is July 14, 7-8:30 p.m. The opening reception is free to all.

In speaking about her jurying process, Elizabeth Avedon said, “While looking for that elusive essence – what moved me visually or emotionally, what seduced me with a new point of view, striking a fresh chord – I tried to imagine how I would feel in a room with this photograph on the wall, and how I may miss it by its absence there.” Avedon also went on to say that, “Meaningful work resonates regardless of what camera you prefer, what lens you choose, what app you favor, or what paper you swoon over. “Real” photography finds its audience.”

For the third year the 22nd Juried Show is held in honor of the legacy of Peter Urban a celebrated, Boston-based photographer who passed away in 2009 after a long battle with cancer. Urban was renowned for his success in both the commercial and artistic realm. In the spirit of Peter’s success creating a career with a balance of commercial and artistic work, his family has partnered with the Arts & Business Council of Greater Boston and the Griffin Museum of Photography to produce opportunities for other photographers to grow their careers.

Alongside the juried exhibition, the Arts and Business Council is again organizing a series of professional development workshops presented by a diverse range of thought leaders as a legacy to Peter Urban. These workshops will share instrumental ideas, methods and tools to help build the business and legal foundation of a thriving artistic practice.

The Peter Urban Legacy Award went to Lissa Rivera. The Arthur Griffin Legacy Award went to Jennifer McClure and the Griffin Award went to Rebecca Biddle Moseman. Honorable mentions went to Susan May Tell, Ashly Leonard Stohl and Ruben Natal-San Miquel.

The photographers are: Ben Altman, Craig Becker, Sheri Lynn Behr, Norm Borden, Chris Borrok, Joan Lobis Brown, Anja Bruehling, Lynne Buchanan, Lauren Ceike, Tom Chambers, Keith Conforti, Francis Crisafio, Frank Diaz & Deb Young, John Delaney, K.k. DePaul, Norm Diamond, Nicholas Fedak II, Selma Fernandez Richter, Bill Franson, Jennifer Georgescu, Laurent Girard, Tessa Gordon, Tamar Granovsky, Meg Griffiths, Tytia Habing, Suzy Halpin, Amanda James, Yoichi Kawamura, Asia Kepka, Jung S Kim, Karen Klinedinst, Molly Lamb, Yvette Meltzer, Ralph Mercer, Jenna Miller, Andrew Mroczek, Toni Pepe Dan, Jaime Permuth, Zoe Perry-Wood, Camilo Ramirez, John Rizzo, Michelle Rogers Pritzl, Russ Rowland, Lee Saloutos, Wendi Schneider, Raphael Shammaa, Lacey Terrell, India Treat, Dawn Watson, Aaron Wax, Sandra Chen Weinstein, Guanyu Xu and Anna Katharina Zeitler

The Griffin Museum of Photography has selected four photographers from the juried show submissions for future exhibitions in 2016. These photographers are:
Rocio De Alba, Gary Beeber, Timothy Wilson and Ellen Davidson Cantor. In addition to the 2016 exhibitions, the Griffin Museum has chosen Joyce P. Lopez and Elliot Schildkrout to be displayed with the current show in our online virtual galleries. From the selections, Ellen Slotnik will be featured as our Member in Focus for the summer of 2016.