Focus Awards 2014

Sponsored by:

Panopticon Imaging


The Focus Awards recognize individuals making critical contributions to the promotion, curation and presentation of photography.
The awards this year celebrate four people and organizations instrumental in building greater awareness of the photographic arts in the general public.
2014 Focus Awards Press Release

Focus Awards Video Channel



almquist_eric_grayFINALEric Almquist will present the award to Jim Dow.

Jim Dow is an educator and photographer. He lives in Boston and teaches at Tufts University and the School of the Museum of Fine Arts.



Barbara-Bosworth.croppedBarbara Bosworth will present the award to Dr. Rebecca Senf
Dr. Rebecca Senf is the Norton Family Curator of Photography, a joint appointment at the Center for Creative Photography and the Phoenix Art Museum.


Ellen Spring

RaniaMatar_GoessensRania Matar will present to Elin Spring.
Dr. Elin Spring is the author of “What Makes It Great?” photography exhibit reviews, “Meet The Artist” interviews, “Who Said It?” photography quote quizzes and various book reviews.



wexlerDr. Laura Wexler will present the award to Larissa Leclair founder of Indie Photobook Library.
The Indie Photobook Library is a U.S. based archive that collects and showcases self-published and indie published photobooks, and facilitates discourse on trends in contemporary publishing and scholarly research now and in the future founded by Larissa Leclair.

Friday Night

7:00 – 7:30 Enjoy wine and hors d’oeuvres while mingling with award recipients and presenters, and Photo Booth with characters from “Horace and Agnes; A Love Story”

7:30 PM – 8:00 PM Lecture by Dr. Francine Weiss on animals and allegory
8:00 PM – 9:00 PM Dinner, dessert and coffee
9:00 PM – 10:00 PM Reading by “Horace and Agnes” and parting photos with the characters

Saturday Focus
11:00 AM – Mimosa Brunch
NOON – Awards presentation with Master of Ceremonies Photographer Lou Jones
at the Griffin Museum of Photography
67 Shore Rd, Winchester, MA

Tickets Prices -Purchase On-line

The Focus Awards have been presented in the following categories:

  • The Lifetime Achievement Award Given to an individual whose ongoing commitment to photography has created far reaching impact.
  • The Rising Star Award Given to an emerging force that the photographic community is watching with great enthusiasm.
  • The New England Beacon Award Given to a local individual whose work brings prominence to the local photographic scene.
  • The Spotlight AwardGiven to an entity that consistently shines a light on photography and has created a far reaching impact in the field.
  • The Scribe AwardGiven for excellence in writing on the subject of photographic arts.
  • The Quicksilver AwardGiven to an individual who has made significant advances in using and exploring new technologies, as well as innovative approaches to photography utilizing nontraditional ways to showcase photography as an ever changing media.
  • The Commonwealth Award
    Given to an entity whose work brings prominence to the local photographic scene.

Focus-2014Please Support the Focus Awards by making a donation in any amount today!