Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

OPEN: 20th Juried Exhibition

July 10, 2014

20th Juried Exhibition

Griffin Museum of Photography
Peter Urban Legacy 20th Annual Juried Exhibition

Juror: Aline Smithson
Exhibition dates: July 10-August 31, 2014
Opening reception: July 10th, 2014 @7pm
67 Shore Road, Winchester MA 01890

RSVP for reception

Lecture with Aline Smithson
on Professional Development
(before the reception)
July 10th, 2014 @ 5:30pm
RSVP for lecture
Members-free, Non-members-$7

The Griffin Museum of Photography would like to thank Aline Smithson, The Peter Urban family and the Arts and Business Council of Greater Boston for making this exhibition possible.

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION & PETER URBAN:The 20th Annual Juried Exhibition at the Griffin Museum will be named in honor of Peter Urban, a celebrated, Boston-based photographer who passed away in 2009 after a long battle with cancer. Urban was renowned for his success in both the commercial and artistic realm. Arlette Kayafas, who represented Urban’s art at Gallery Kayafas, said that while some photographers find it difficult to move from advertising to artistic endeavors, “Peter was the exception, because his commercial work was like his fine arts work. When he worked with clients, he saw them as the human beings they were. Peter’s work was always about people.’’

In the spirit of Peter’s success creating a career with a balance of commercial and artistic work, his family has partnered with the Arts & Business Council and the Griffin Museum of Photography to produce opportunities for other photographers to grow their careers.

“It is only right that the Griffin’s twentieth juried exhibition be named in honor of Peter Urban,” says Paula Tognarelli, executive director of the Griffin Museum of Photography. “Peter’s first solo exhibition was at the Griffin in 2005. His gallery talk that accompanied his show was to a capacity audience. You could feel the love in that room that day.”

Alongside the juried exhibition, the Arts and Business Council is organizing a series of professional development workshops presented by a diverse range of thought leaders. These workshops will share instrumental ideas, methods and tools to help build the business and legal foundation of a thriving artistic practice.

JUROR: Aline Smithson
After a career as a New York Fashion Editor, Aline Smithson is currently represented by galleries in the U.S. and Europe and published throughout the world. Aline founded the blogzine, LENSCRATCH, has been the Gallery Editor for Light Leaks Magazine, and a contributing writer for numerous publications. She reviews and teaches workshops at photography festivals across the United States, is a juror for a various organizations, and has been teaching at the Los Angeles Center of Photography since 2001. In 2012, she received the Rising Star Award from the Griffin Museum of Photography for her contributions to the photographic community.

Exhibiting Artists:

Bob Avakian
Susan Bank
Allison Barnes
Sheri Lynn Behr
Christa Blackwood
Julia Bradshaw
Stephanie Brunia
Brad Carlile
Clare Carter, Peter Urban Legacy Award
Joy Christiansen Erb
Gerhard Clausing
Francis Crisafio
Magela Crosignani
Katrina dAutremont
Frances Denny
K.K. DePaul
Yorgos Efthymiadis
Pippi Ellison
Gregg Evans
Martha Fleming-Ives
Amy Friend
Jay Gould
Deborah Hamon
Brett Henrikson
Keiko Hiromi, Honorable Mention
Stephanie Kaznocha
Susan Keiser
Asia Kepka
Minho Kim
Bear Kirkpatrick
Sandra Klein
Kristianne Koch Riddle
Molly Lamb
Al Levin
Yijun Liao
Ben Marcin
Jennifer McClure, Arthur Griffin Legacy Award
Yvette Meltzer
Hye-Ryoung Min
Blue Mitchell
Lazaro Montano
Skip Montello
Richard Moore
Cade Overton
Linda Pagani
Pamela Pecchio
Suzanne Revy
Laura Beth Reese
Michelle Rogers Pritzl
Eleonora Ronconi
Greg Sand, Honorable Mention
Jane Lena Schulman
Kate Shannon
Michael Stepansky
Millee Tibbs
Santiago Vanegas
Samuel Walker, Griffin Award
Claire A. Warden
Susan Worsham, Honorable Mention
Kalman Zabarsky

This year we will be hosting another 60 artists that had applied to the show in our Virtual Gallery!  
Frank Armstrong
Rick Ashley
Cynthia Bittenfield
Alejandra Carles-Tolra
Christopher Chadbourne
Bill Chapman
Francisco Diaz
Deb Young
Dennis Ditto
Caroline Dorn
Steven Duede
Jack Dziamba
Desiree Edkins
Steve Engelmann
Anne Gabriele
Nicholas Gaffney
David Gardner
Terri Gold
Rashed Haq
Russell Hart
Nancy Hellebrand
Michael Joseph
Brian Kaplan
Jurgen Kedesdy
Valerie Y.O Kim
Rita Koehler
Margaret Lampert
Karen Larson-Voltz
J. K. Lavin
Adam J. Long
Joyce P. Lopez
Sara Macel
David Mattox
Calli McCaw
Jessica McCoy
Robert Moran
Bruce Morton
Roberta Neidigh
Jane Paradise
Christine Pearl
Toni Pepe
Zoe Perry-Wood
Lori Pond
Russ Rowland
Brian Christopher Sargent, Critic’s Pick by Aline Smithson
Andi Schreiber
Dick Simon
Kurt Simonson
Ron Snider
Stacy Swiderski
Susan Swihart
Jane Szabo
Amanda Tinker
Carrie Tomberlin
Tina Tryforos
Jeremy Underwood
Samantha VanDeman
David Welch
Grace Weston
David Wolf

The Griffin Museum is happy to extend exhibitions to four artists not chosen for the Juried Exhibition! Congratulations to the artists who will be showing in 2015:

Lindsey Beal
Joan Fitzsimmons
Noritaka Minami
Joshua White

Also on Exhibition:

Rafael Soldi
July 10- August 31, 2014
Opening reception July 10, 2014
Members talk Local Juried artists

Marjorie Salvaterra
July 10 – August 31, 2014
Opening reception July 10, 2014


July 10, 2014
Event Categories:


Griffin Museum of Photography
67 Shore Road
Winchester, MA 01890 United States


Griffin Museum of Photography